Biology Professor Lips Named 2016-2017 Jefferson Science Fellow

University of Maryland Biology Professor Karen Lips has been named a 2016-2017 Jefferson Science Fellow by the U.S. Department of State and the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID). The innovative fellows program engages the nation’s academic scientists, engineers and physicians in U.S. foreign policy.

Fellows spend one year at the State Department or USAID for an on-site assignment in Washington, D.C., that could involve extended stays at U.S. foreign embassies and missions. They will remain available to the U.S. Department of State/USAID for short-term projects over the subsequent five years. Lips and Sumant Nigam, professor of atmospheric and oceanic science, join faculty member Norma Allewell, professor in the Department of Cell Biology and Molecular Genetics, who was a 2011-2012 Jefferson Fellow.

Lips is a professor in the Department of Biology and a research associate at the Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute and the U.S. Museum of Natural History.  A field ecologist, Lips explores how global change affects the biodiversity of amphibians and reptiles in the U.S. and Latin America. She is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, was named a Leshner Leadership Institute Public Engagement Fellow in 2015 and a Leopold Leadership Fellow in 2005. She received the President's Award of the Chicago Zoological Society in 1997, a Bay and Paul Biodiversity Leadership Award in 1998, and the Sabin Award for Amphibian Conservation in 2012. In 2015, Lips received the inaugural University of Maryland Research Communicator Impact Award. Lips earned a bachelor’s degree in zoology from the University of South Florida in 1988 and her Ph.D. from the Department of Biology at the University of Miami, Coral Gables, in 1995.

The 2016-2017 Jefferson Science Fellows class is the twelfth selected since the program was established in 2003 as an initiative of the Office of the Science and Technology Adviser to the U.S. Secretary of State. The 2016-2017 Fellows will begin their one-year assignments in Washington, DC on August 22, 2016.

Media Relations Contact: Abby Robinson, 301-405-5845,